Eight candidates stand for Youth Parliament seats

0 comments, , by , in News

This year’s Scottish Youth Parliament election will see eight candidates compete for two seats to represent Shetland from June 2013 to June 2015.

Click for full image.

They are Andrew Bain (Lerwick), Samuel Barlow (Skeld), Catherine Hannah (Sandwick), Diana Inkster (Scalloway), James Leonard (Mossbank), Samuel McCormack (Sandwick), Kaylee Mouat (Scalloway) and Sammy-Jo Wallace (Dunrossness).

From Monday 4th to Friday 15th March all young people aged 12 to 26 can vote using their Young Scot NEC card and the results will be announced by returning officer Jan Riise.

The election is held every two years and is organised by the SIC youth services department in partnership with the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Local authority election co-ordinator Martin Summers said: “We are delighted that so many young people have put themselves forward this year for the two seats that current MSYPs Nicole Mouat and Emily Shaw are standing down from. I wish all the candidates success as they campaign in the coming weeks.”


Your Comment

Please note, it is the policy of The Shetland Times to publish comments and letters from named individuals only. Both forename and surname are required.

Comments are moderated. Contributors must observe normal standards of decency and tolerance for the opinions of others.

The views expressed are those of contributors and not of The Shetland Times.

The Shetland Times reserves the right to decline or remove any contribution without notice or stating reason.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>