Restored lighthouse prepares to take guests
Visitors wanting to stay at the newly-refurbished Sumburgh Head Lighthouse accommodation can now book online for the summer months.
The new website is open for bookings for the former light keeper’s cottage, which is available on a self-catering basis from May.
The accommodation forms part of the £5.4 million redevelopment of the site, which features the oldest lighthouse in Shetland, built by Robert Stevenson in 1821. The redevelopment, led by Shetland Amenity Trust with RSPB and Northern Lighthouse Board, is nearing completion.
Situated in the west pavilion, the cottage can sleep up to five people in three rooms. The trust says it will provide comfortable, luxury accommodation for families, groups, business travellers, birdwatchers, hikers or as a base for those who want to explore the area and the RSPB-managed bird reserve which is a site of special scientific interest.
The property, split over two levels, includes a dining-kitchen with hand built units and electric Aga cooker, a lounge area, twin bunk-bed room and toilet on the upper floor where the main entrance door is located. The lower floor includes the single and double bedrooms, bathroom and fully equipped utility room. There is under-floor heating throughout, fuelled by the efficient ground source heat pump.
Care has been taken to ensure the building has been restored to the original layout as designed by Stevenson, and original features have been retained or reinstated with materials matched as closely as possible to original. The internal staircase, which was built, but blocked off in Stevenson’s time, has been opened up.
Dedicated car parking spaces for accommodation guests will be provided in the West Field. There is no car parking for the public at the top of the site, except limited space for disabled access.
Bookings can now be made through www.shetlandlighthouse.com