Whalsay golfers reap rewards as fine season draws to a close

LAST weekend saw the final competitions in the Whalsay golf diary for this year with the End of Season Tankards which are pre­sented every year by Mildred and Gibbie Blance.

The competition is played as a Stableford and despite the strong wind the scores were not too bad.

The winner for the men was Wilbert Shearer with a brilliant (considering the conditions) 38 points. Second by virtue of a better back nine was Gibbie Blance on 34 points, with Dodie Williamson also with 34 and Stewart Anderson fourth with 32.

The women’s winner was Angelina Sandison with 35 points, second Joanne Stewart with 31, third Mildred Blance on 30 and fourth Loraine Anderson with 30. The com­petition was sponsored by R S Henderson of Yell. Steven Hender­son presented the prizes and the club would like to thank him very much.

Part of the end-of-season competition for the past 10 years has been the Janie Cup, and to win this all the cards are put into a hat and the best man’s and woman’s combined score drawn out takes the prize. This year it was Caroline Arthur and Wilbert Shearer who had a joint 66 points. It was very fitting that Wilbert was a winner as this cup was donated by his family, in memory of his mother “Glybie’s” Janie.

The club later presented the annual trophies and the club captain Stuart Anderson and retiring lady captain Iris Anderson did the honours.

Women’s section
Ruby Irvine: bronze medal flag competition.

Louise Anderson: silver medal, overall medal flag competition.

Iris Anderson: round three club championship bronze medal; Decca Doubles (along with Loraine Anderson).

Linda Sandison: round two club championship bronze medal.

Cathy Shearer: Poleson & Stewart Shield for the three club competition.

Rosie Sandison: Anderson Trophy for singles matchplay; the Rosebowl; Outrabister Cup (along with Loraine Anderson).

Margie Pearson: round one club championship silver medal; round two club championship silver medal.

Margaret Anderson: round one club championship bronze medal; overall bronze medalist; Pearson & Sandison Trophy for singles handi­cap matchplay.

Loraine Anderson: Decca Doub­les (with Iris); Outrabister Cup (with Rosie); scratch player of the year 2008.

Rosaine Sandison: round three club championship silver medal; Sep­tember Brooch; overall silver medalist; most improved player 2008; handicap player of the year 2008.

Angelina Jamieson: Irvine Trophy for club champion 2008.

Men’s section
Jamieson’s Trophy for doubles matchplay: Neil Anderson and Stuart Anderson.

Joe Kay Cup for singles matchplay: Neil Anderson.

Senior club champion: Graeme Sandison.

Most improved player for 2008: Nathan Constable.

Handicap player of the year: Dodie Williamson.

Scratch golfer of the year: Stuart Anderson.

Club champion for 2008: Neil Anderson.


Get Latest News in Your Inbox

Join the The Shetland Times mailing list to get one daily email update at midday on what's happening in Shetland.