Golf news

Mission day voted a great success

The 13th Mission Cup, the annual golf tournament for all sectors of the fishing industry, was staged at the Whalsay Golf Club on Saturday.

There were 21 teams with 74 competitors, the course was in excellent condition and players enjoyed a great day for what is now the biggest event on the Shetland golf calendar.

The event was sponsored by Shetland Catch and after all fees and donations were received £3,810 was raised towards RNMDSF funds. Around £800 was made on the raffle alone, with the winning prize, a trip to Aberdeen donated by NorthLink, won by Derek Nicolson.

The prizes were presented by senior mission superintendent Murray Campbell and Graeme Davie of Shetland Catch. Mr Camp­bell thanked the Whalsay Golf Club committee, in particular Graeme Sandison, scorer Jimmy Burgess and the women who provided an excellent supper.

RNMDSF Golf Cup: 1 Charisma A – 115 (Larry Williamson 33, Nathan Constable 44, Roy Huntley 36); 2 Altaire – 106 (Grant Wiseman 39, Derek Nicolson 33, G Phillip 34); 3 Athena/Antarctic – 105 (Magnie Jamieson 35, Stewart Anderson 35, Adrian Henderson 35).

Handicap section 0-9: 1 Grant Wiseman (Altaire B) 39.

Handicap section 10-17: 1 Anthony Shearer (Tetley Boys) 42.

Handicap section 18+: 1 Nathan Constable (Charisma A) 44.

Nearest second hole: T Stewart (Prevail).

Nearest fourth in two shots: Gibby Pottinger (LHD).

Nearest 11th hole: George A Anderson (Antares A).

Longest drive on 15th: Stuart Anderson (Tranquillity).

Nearest 16th in two shots: Derek Nicolson (Altaire B).

Bandid hat: Nathan Constable.

: : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : :

Golf club wins Old Rock trophy

The men’s golf season at Dale is now in full flow with the course looking in excellent condition.

The Old Rock team competition was played in a different format this year with teams playing 18 holes using the stableford points system, the nine highest individual scores being used for the overall team score to determine the winners.

Victors this year were the Shetland Golf Club who scored a total of 286 points. In second place was the Lounge with 277 with SVT/Masonic third with 276.

Colin Veeran’s excellent 42 points was the highest of the day and also took his handicap down by three shots from 17 to 14. Ronnie Gair was the second-highest points scorer with 37 and Paul Nicol scored 36.

There was a summer league sweepstake held the following Wednesday with Colin Bain taking first place with a score of 71 (net 65). Tom Simpson with 72 (net 66) was second and Brydon Leask was third with 77 (net 67).

The Tennents Cup was won by Jordan Leask with an excellent 68 (net 63), with his father Ian taking second with 80 (net 68) and Dale Smith third with 88 (net 70).

The May monthly medal was won by Ross MacDougall on a very windy day with a 79 (net 69). He won by virtue of a better back nine from both Ross Chisholm on 75 (net 69) and Jordan Leask on 73 (net 69).

The qualifying rounds for the club championship were held over the last two weekends with the eight best scores over two rounds going into an eight man knock-out with the best eight handicap scores also going into a similar knock-out for the Henry Gilbertson Trophy.

After the first round the best scratch score came from Tom Simpson with a fine 70, leading the way from a group of five who were four shots behind – Crawford McIntyre, Ross Chisholm, Stuart Fox, Jordan Leask and Michael Boxwell all returning scores of 74.

The leading handicap scores after round one came from Marc Henry on 76 (net 64), Brydon Leask on 76 (net 66) and Grant Wiseman on 76 (net 68).

The second round was held on Sunday with Jordan Leask returning the lowest score of 71, Ernie Smith 72 and Tom Simpson 73. Gavin Philip returned the lowest net score with a fine 75 (net 63) but unfortunately did not qualify for the last eight due to a poor first round.

Draws for the knock-out stages – Club Championship: Tom Simpson v Brydon Leask; Ernie Smith v Ross Chisholm; Jordan Leask v Magnus Leask; Crawford McIntyre v Colin Bain.

Henry Gilbertson Trophy: Steven Goodlad v Ian Leask; Grant Wiseman v Marc Henry; Dougie Shearer v Michael Boxwell; Dougie Macdonald v Stevie Tulloch.

These matches are to be played over the next two weeks with the two finals on 14th June.

: : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : :

Ruby lowers her handicap by three

The Whalsay Ladies’ Senior Open golf tournament was played on Saturday in very sunny but windy conditions. The usual support from Dale meant a good turnout of 24 women taking part. The scratch section was won by Heather Hogg with a gross 85 in the tricky conditions. Second was Loraine Anderson (86) with her playing partner Jenny Arthur third (93).

The handicap section was well won by Mildred Blance (net 74) from Ruby Smith (76) and Mandy Henderson third on countback (also 76).

Nearest the pin competitions were held on all the par three holes and Helen Thompson was nearest at the second, Heather Hogg at fifth and 14th and Rosie Sandison at the eighth and 11th.

A big vote of thanks was given to the sponsor S&R Swanson for the generous support.

A midweek stableford was held last Thursday and Ruby Irvine won with an amazing 39 points, lowering her handicap by three strokes. Cathy Shearer was second with 34.

: : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : :

Revenge for captain Hogg at Dale

The women’s golf season at Dale has been under way for a couple of months and began with the Captain’s Challenge.

This was a fun way of getting everyone back playing and the result was revenge for captain Heather Hogg over vice-captain Audrey Thompson, winning by the smallest of margins.

Audrey took the opportunity to raise approximately £270 for Diabetes UK; a big thank you to all who contributed to the worthy cause.

The RNLI Spoons was won by June Porter while the Coronation Foursomes was won by Liz Simpson and Valerie Morrison who are now eligible to represent Shetland Golf Club at Aboyne in July.

The monthly medal winner for April was Ruby Smith (bronze), a notable win as the weather had worsened to heavy wind and rain. Because of the weather the silver division was uncon­tested.

The May monthly medal was won by Rosaine Sandision (silver) with a net 65, who in the process reduced her handicap from 12 to 11. Iris Anderson won the bronze division with a net 77.

The highlight for the comp­etition was the hole in one Judy Ashton achieved at the second hole – all golfers dream of this but very few manage to get one.

The biggest competition is the qualifying rounds for the Club Championship. Three rounds are played with the best two rounds counting towards qualifying for matchplays.

The four who have qualified for the next round of the Bain Cup are Angelina Jamieson who plays Heather Hogg and Rosaine Sandi­sion who takes on Loraine Anderson.

The four who will contest the Garret Cup are Valerie Morrison, Mildred Blance, Rosie Sandison and Morag Fox.

The first open of the season at Dale is the Ladies Open Pairs tomorrow. Shetland Transport has sponsored the competition for a couple of years and their support is greatly appreciated.

The women also had a beginners’ night when 10 players who were new to the game had a try at different skills. They were blessed with a fine sunny, warm evening which added to the enjoyment.

There are more sessions planned for any women wishing to try the game, the next one on Friday at 6.30pm. For more information contact Heather Hogg on (01595) 696169 or Audrey Thompson on (01595) 692966.


Get Latest News in Your Inbox

Join the The Shetland Times mailing list to get one daily email update at midday on what's happening in Shetland.