Shetland MSYPs are ‘communicators of the year’

Shetland’s two members won the “Communicator of the Year” title at the weekend’s Scottish Youth Parliament awards.

Kaylee Mouat, who last week was elected to serve a further term in the parliament, and outgoing member Catherine Hannah said they were delighted to win the award, one of several which elebrate the achievements of MSYPs and local authorities throughout the past year.

They said: “We are delighted to have won this award tonight to recognise the work we have carried out in our local community.

“Our thanks goes to [MSP] Tavish Scott, [SIC convener] Malcolm Bell, Shetland Islands Council’s youth services, our support worker Martin Summers and our wonderful local media for their support.

“Without them we would not be able to spread the messages and campaigns of the Scottish Youth Parliament throughout the isles.”

At last week’s election Kelvin Anderson was elected along with Ms Mouat to serve as Shetland MSYPs for the next two years.


Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

Please note, it is the policy of The Shetland Times to publish comments and letters from named individuals only. Both forename and surname are required.

Comments are moderated. Contributors must observe normal standards of decency and tolerance for the opinions of others.

The views expressed are those of contributors and not of The Shetland Times.

The Shetland Times reserves the right to decline or remove any contribution without notice or stating reason.

Comments are limited to 200 words but please email longer articles or letters to for consideration and include a daytime telephone number and your address. If emailing information in confidence please put "Not for publication" in both the subject line and at the top of the main message.

200 words left

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Get Latest News in Your Inbox

Join the The Shetland Times mailing list to get one daily email update at midday on what's happening in Shetland.