Names of council election candidates revealed

Names of those seeking election to the council in May have been officially released.

But no election will take place in either the North Isles or Shetland North.

Not enough candidates have put themselves forward in those areas for election.

That means independent candidates Ryan Thomson and Duncan Anderson will represent the North Isles – normally a three member ward – uncontested.

Shetland North is also a three member ward.

Labour candidate Tom Morton will represent the area uncontested, along with Emma Macdonald and Andrea Manson, who are both independent.

However, eight candidates are standing in Shetland West, with two of them representing political parties.

Zara Pennington is standing for the SNP, while Debra Nicolson is seeking to represent the area on behalf of the Shetland Greens.

Independent candidates on the West Side are Liz Boxwell, Peter Fraser, Papa Stour resident Andrew Holt, John Leask, Mark Robinson, and Ian Tinkler.

An election will also take place in Shetland Central. Moraig Lyall is seeking re-election, as well as Ian Scott and Davie Sandison.

They are competing against Scottish Green Party’s Martin Randall, and long-standing political campaigner, Brian Nugent, who is standing under the “Sovereignty” banner.

With boundary changes now in place, Shetland Central now takes in Whiteness and Weisdale.

Catherine Hughson, formerly a Shetland West councillor, is seeking votes in the four-member central ward.

Independent candidate Stephen Ferguson is standing in Lerwick North and Bressay, against Stephen Leask, Gary Robinson, Arwed Wenger and Marie Williamson.

Candidates contesting for Lerwick South are new hopefuls Dennis Leask, Shayne McLeod, Neil Pearson and Peter Coleman.

Also standing in Lerwick South are Cecil Smith, Amanda Hawick and John Fraser. Mr Fraser is moving over from Lerwick North to campaign in the neighbouring ward.

Five candidates standing in Shetland South are independent candidates Alison Duncan, Bryan Peterson, and Stewart Douglas, along with Shetland Green Alex Armitage and the SNP’s Robbie McGregor.


Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

Please note, it is the policy of The Shetland Times to publish comments and letters from named individuals only. Both forename and surname are required.

Comments are moderated. Contributors must observe normal standards of decency and tolerance for the opinions of others.

The views expressed are those of contributors and not of The Shetland Times.

The Shetland Times reserves the right to decline or remove any contribution without notice or stating reason.

Comments are limited to 200 words but please email longer articles or letters to for consideration and include a daytime telephone number and your address. If emailing information in confidence please put "Not for publication" in both the subject line and at the top of the main message.

200 words left

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Get Latest News in Your Inbox

Join the The Shetland Times mailing list to get one daily email update at midday on what's happening in Shetland.