Election notice officially announced

A notice for the UK parliamentary election has officially been announced.

Returning officer Oliver Reid posted the notice for the Orkney and Shetland constituency yesterday (Friday).

Nomination papers must be delivered to Mr Reid in Kirkwall by 4pm on Friday, 7th June.

Candidates announced so far are: Alex Armitage (Greens); Alistair Carmichael (Liberal Democrats); Robert Leslie (SNP); Shane Painter (Conservative); Conor Savage (Labour); Robert Smith (Reform).

The poll will take place on Thursday 4th July.

People must be on the Electoral Register to take part.

Registration can be done online or at the Electoral Registration Office at 20 Commercial Road, Lerwick – phone 01595 745700 or email ero@shetland.gov.uk.


Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

Please note, it is the policy of The Shetland Times to publish comments and letters from named individuals only. Both forename and surname are required.

Comments are moderated. Contributors must observe normal standards of decency and tolerance for the opinions of others.

The views expressed are those of contributors and not of The Shetland Times.

The Shetland Times reserves the right to decline or remove any contribution without notice or stating reason.

Comments are limited to 200 words but please email longer articles or letters to editorial@shetlandtimes.co.uk for consideration and include a daytime telephone number and your address. If emailing information in confidence please put "Not for publication" in both the subject line and at the top of the main message.

200 words left

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Get Latest News in Your Inbox

Join the The Shetland Times mailing list to get one daily email update at midday on what's happening in Shetland.